U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

May 15, 2024

President Biden Reappoints Sfraga, Richter-Menge, and Cravalho to a Second Term

Today, President Biden reappointed Dr. Mike Sfraga, Dr. Jacqueline Richter-Menge and Ms. Elizabeth Ann (Qaulluq) Cravalho to a second term on the US Arctic Research Commission. Their new term will expire on February 26, 2028.

Drs. Sfraga and Richter-Menge are assigned to slots on the commission for “…individuals from academic or other research institutions with expertise in areas of research relating to the Arctic, including the physical, biological, health, environmental, social and behavioral sciences,” as described in the Arctic Research and Policy Act (ARPA).

Ms. Cravalho is assigned to a slot for “…members appointed from among individuals familiar with the Arctic and representative of the needs and interests of private industry undertaking resource development in the Arctic.”

Dr. Sfraga, Dr. Richter-Menge, and Ms. Cravalho were first appointed to the Commission, by the Biden-Harris Administration, on September 22, 2021, part way through a four-year, fixed term.

Please note that the “clock” on commission terms continues to move forward, regardless of when commissioners are appointed, and that, by law (ARPA), commissioners may continue to serve after the expiration of their term until the President appoints a successor.


Home  |  About  |  Publications  |  Working Groups  |  News & Events  |  Policies  |  Photo Credits  |  Privacy

Looking for U.S. government information and services? Visit USA.gov


Looking for U.S. government information and services? Visit USA.gov