U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

March 7, 2023

President Biden Reappoints Nikoosh Carlo to a Second Term

Today, President Biden reappointed Dr. Nikoosh Carlo to a second term on the US Arctic Research Commission. Her new term will expire on February 26, 2027. Dr. Carlo holds one of the slots on the commission for “…individuals from academic or other research institutions with expertise in areas of research relating to the Arctic, including the physical, biological, health, environmental, social and behavioral sciences,” as described in the Arctic Research and Policy Act (ARPA).

Dr. Carlo was first appointed to the Commission on April 5, 2022, towards the end of the four-year, fixed term. Please note that the “clock” on commission terms continues to move forward, regardless of when commissioners are appointed. Please also know that, by law (ARPA), that commissioners may continue to serve after the expiration of their term until the President appoints a successor.