

USARC COMMISSIONERS

USARC's seven Commissioners, appointed by the President, include four members from academic or research institutions, two members from private industry undertaking commercial activities in the Arctic, and one member from among the Indigenous residents of the Arctic. The eighth member of the Commission is the Director of the National Science Foundation, who serves as a nonvoting, ex officio member.



USARC CHAIR: Mike Sfraga, PhD

Polar Institute at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Fairbanks, AK

Dr. Michael Sfraga was designated USARC Chair by President Biden in September 2021. He was the founding director of the Wilson Center's Polar Institute where he continues to serve as chair and distinguished fellow. An Alaskan and a geographer by training, he focuses on the changing geography of polar landscapes, Arctic policy, and the impacts and implications of a changing climate on political, social, economic, environmental, and security regimes. Dr. Sfraga served as co-lead scholar for the State Department's inaugural Fulbright Arctic Initiative. He previously served in several academic, administrative, and executive positions at the University of Alaska. Dr. Sfraga earned the first PhD in geography and northern studies from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.



Nikoosh Carlo, PhD

CEO, CNC North Consulting, Seattle, WA

Dr. Nikoosh Carlo is founder and chief strategist at CNC North Consulting. She works to advance communitybased solutions to climate change, and advances initiatives that support climate equity and the health and well-being of Arctic residents and Indigenous peoples. Dr. Carlo previously served as senior advisor for climate and Arctic policy to the Governor of Alaska, a senior advisor for the U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, and the executive director of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission. Dr. Carlo is Koyukon Athabascan, with deep roots in Fairbanks and Tanana. She received a PhD in neuroscience from the University of California San Diego and a BS in psychology from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.



Elizabeth "Liz" Qaulluq Cravalho

Vice President of Lands, NANA Regional Corporation, Kotzebue, AK

Elizabeth "Liz" Qaulluq Cravalho is vice president of lands for NANA Regional Corporation, an Alaska Native owned corporation. She is responsible for providing strategic leadership and management for programs that focus on the subsistence use, environmental protection, and enhancement of NANA lands and resources for use by shareholders and local communities. Liz executes site control for infrastructure projects and participates in managing responsible resource development on NANA lands in the Arctic. In the past, Liz served on the State of Alaska's Arctic Policy Commission and is the former Chair of the Alaska Humanities Forum. She holds an MS in organization development from American University and a BA in history from Colorado College.



David M. Kennedy

Deputy Undersecretary for Operations (retired), NOAA, Madison, VA

David Kennedy has over 50 years of experience in science, research, environmental management, and developing legislation and national initiatives. He's a Global Fellow at the Polar Institute and a Board Member of the Friends of the World Maritime University. After serving as a U.S. Air Force pilot in Alaska, Mr. Kennedy worked at the University of Alaska's Geophysical Institute in as a research director that ultimately led to a 30-year career at NOAA, culminating as Deputy Under Secretary for Operations. After retirement in 2014, he returned to NOAA, part time, as the Senior Policy Advisor for the Arctic region until 2020. Mr. Kennedy received a bachelor's degree in anthropology from the University of Northern Colorado.



Mark Myers, PhD CEO, Myenergies, Anchorage, AK

Dr. Mark Myers has engaged in Arctic research, resource management, and policy for four decades. As the principal of Myenergies, he works with State Department in overseas capacity building in the Arctic and elsewhere. He's previously served in senior leadership positions with the State of Alaska, University of Alaska, and the Department of Interior, including Director of the U.S. Geological Survey, Alaska Commissioner of Natural Resources, Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Alaska State Geologist, and State Director of Oil and Gas. Dr. Myers spent 26 years in the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve as a pilot and intelligence officer. He holds BS, MS, and PhD degrees in geology.



Research Faculty, Institute of Northern Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Lyme, NH

Dr. Jackie Richter-Menge conducted research for 36 years with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory in Hanover, NH. She's now a research affiliate at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She studies the evolution of Arctic sea ice cover to improve short-term forecasts and long-term climate projections. She teaches students and the public about the polar science. For many years, she served as lead editor for the NOAA Arctic Report Card and chairs a science advisory committee for the U.S. Navy Submarine Arctic Science Program. She earned a bachelor's and master's in civil engineering from the University of Delaware and an honorary doctorate of science from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.



Deborah Vo

Program Officer, Rasmuson Foundation, Anchorage, AK

Deborah Vo is a program officer at the Rasmuson Foundation. Born and raised in St. Mary's, she is as the youngest of 10 siblings. Given her expertise in tribal governance, health care, and community development, Ms. Vo worked as special assistant for rural affairs to U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski. She previously served as her hometown's first female city manager, tribal administrator, and health planner. Ms. Vo also worked in the Community Development Quota program, to advance jobs, education and other benefits in Western Alaska communities, and managed rural energy planning for the Alaska Energy Authority. She holds a bachelor's degree in business from Elms College and a Master of Business Administration from Alaska Pacific University.



Sethuraman Panchanathan, PhD (ex officio) Director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA

ANNOUNCING THE US ARCTIC RESEARCH COMMISSION'S Goals and Objectives for Arctic Research 2023–2024



READ THE REPORT

www.arctic.gov/ goals-and-objectives/



REPORT ON THE GOALS and Objectives for Arctic Research 2023-2024 FOR THE US ARCTIC RESEARCH PROGRAM PLAN

UNITED STATES AERCIC RESEARCH COMMISSION